glossier generation g matte lipstick πŸ’„ (cf)

FullSizeRender (21)

Price: $18 at glossier.com
Rating: 4/5

πŸ’„

I’m crazy late to the bandwagon as usual, but is it any surprise? Has GlossierΒ ever released a product that wasn’t completely mind-blowingly awesome? (If you say yes, you’re wrong.)

With the weather getting grosser and sweatier, I’ve been favoring more natural makeup looks, and Glossier’s Generation G lipsticks are the answer to my lazy girl prayers. I love them so much that the day I received mine, I immediately ordered two more β€” they’reΒ that awesome.

Glossier’s website describes these as “the look and finish of just-blotted lipstick, without the blot,” but I think the best way to describe these is much simpler: think popsicle-stained lips. They’re sheer but pack just enough color to complete any minimalist makeup look. Even the darkest color, Jam, is still wearable and everyday!

FullSizeRender (22)
(From left to right: Crush, Zip, Jam.)

I picked up this lipstick in three gorgeous shades: Zip, a “poppy red”; Crush, a “hot raspberry pink”; and Jam, a “deep berry magenta.” The color payoff on each of these isΒ awesome, and I find myself reaching for these every day. They’re comfortable and relatively long-lasting, and their sheerness makes it easy to apply them without even using a mirror.

Why 4 out of 5, then? IΒ love the formula, but I think the shade range is a little lacking. I’ve never been a fan of pink lip colors β€” dusty rose is about as pink as I’ll go β€” so I found that I really didn’t have too many choices. Two of the colors, Cake and Like, seem so sheer that they’re not even worth buying! I think that this product could be greatly improved with the addition of more blue under-toned shades and perhaps even some deeper colors. (These colors aren’t even that dark on me, and as you can tell, I’m pretty pale. I doubt they would show up that well on darker-skinned ladies.)

If you’re in the market for an everyday, easy lipstick, I would definitely recommend these. Have you guys tried out any of these lipsticks? Let me know what you think! ✨

Leave a Reply

